A Day in the Life of a … Learning Intern

Posted on

What’s the first thing you did when you arrived this morning?

o I sat down at my desk and checked my emails. Then I moved on to panicking over helping lead my first workshop. I typed out a small script to follow when leading part of the workshop, which I later abandoned in favour of improvisation, which may or may not have been a mistake!

Give me a brief description of what you did today.

o Today I helped lead the Being Burns workshop with a small group of 9 kids. I have terrible stage fright so that was a challenge, but here I am, living to tell the tale. Then I moved on to have a lunch break accompanied by numerous pieces of tablet. The afternoon was spent editing my project’ ’15 Things at RBBM Before 5pm’, which is a summer program for kids to participate in self-led discovery on the RBBM property. Today was a productive day indeed.

How would you describe a normal day in the life of a Learning Intern?

o Being a learning intern here at the RBBM allows for a very diverse day. I have been here four weeks now, and I must say that everyday I have worked here has been wildy different. One day you will spend researching a project, another day you will lead a workshop, and the next you will help make peg dollies with our younger visitors. Working at the education pavillion at RBBM is a lot of fun, and I feel very lucky to not be tied to a desk all day long. I am on a 12 week internship here, and my time thus far has confirmed that I am working in the right sector!

What’s your favourite thing about the job?

o My favourite thing about being an intern at the RBBM, as mentioned before, is how different each day is. I love being able to come into work looking forward to what the day will bring for me, however hectic or strange it may be. I also love being able to work so closely with people. I am not the type of person to stay hiddenn in an office, or as my manager will confirm for you, stop talking, so I need to work in an environment that allows for this. I enjoy the people I work with on a daily basis, as well as the people who travel from abroad and the locals. Finally, I love that I am able to carve my own path in this internship. My managers have been very flexible and accomodating in helping me get the most out of my time here in Scotland.

What’s the strangest/funniest /best thing that’s happened to you working at RBMM so far?

o The best thing that’s happened to me here so far… Has to be our trip to Bannockburn. For starters, I love field trips, I feel like a kid again. The revamped Bannockburn site is fantastic, and one of the best parts of it was the virtual game we played in the museum. It was a bloody match between England and Scotland, and it was really fun to see everyone get heated and enthusiastic in a very new-age site like this one. Additionally, the outdoor property was so beautiful, that it became essential for the other interns and I to skip, spin, and recreate the Sound of Music. Good times!

Leave a Reply

