A Day in the Life of a Learning Intern!

Posted on Updated on

What does a Learning Intern at the Robert Burns Birthplace Museum do? New Intern, Catriona McIntosh shows us a day in a life of a learning intern.

DSCF4572
Catriona in the middle of a busy day (On her way to lunch!)

What’s the first thing you did when you arrived this morning?
I set up the Red Room for Being Burns (one of our P5-7 workshops) for 24 kids at 10am. I also managed to sneak in a cup of tea before checking my emails and sorting my ’to-do’ list for the day.

Give me a brief description of your day.
We had a double Being Burns day, this means I did the workshop at 10am and again at 12 30pm. This was an easier day as I have done this workshop a lot and don’t have to really think too much about what I am doing.
Sadly, I didn’t have time to get to the Museum cafe for the soup! The soup and sandwich lunches here are pretty amazing – the best soup is Bombay Potato.

In the afternoon I edited a PowerPoint for one of our volunteers who is giving a Highlight Talk and put together an eBook magazine of drawings that a P2-4 class had made in a workshop called Robert Burns Superstar. This is great as you see a wonderful variety of interpretations of the Robert Burns Birthplace Museum.

What’s your favourite thing about the job?
Enthusiasm of everyone who works and volunteers here! The museum is a great place to come to work every day. I work in an office next to the cottage where we have regular visitors in the form of deer, buzzards and herons.

I also love to work with the volunteers as they have fantastic knowledge and care for what they do so much that they really make this place tick.

What’s the funniest/weirdest thing that happened working at RBBM so far?

I was once asked if I had ever seen Robert Burns’ body, met Burns, and if he opens the museum!  Also did you know that mousies sneak into the museum on the back of dragons at night time?! 5 year old imaginations are amazing!

Leave a Reply

