Volunteers’ Week 2015 : Meet our Volunteers – Tricia

Posted on Updated on

I was one of the second group of volunteers taken on board at the RBBM.   I started as a Tour Guide, moving on to driving the buggy, assisting with Craft Fairs and helping out with the Pop-up Shop in Ayr – “Ayrshire Gifts an’ a’ that”.

Ayrshire Gifts an' a' That
Ayrshire Gifts an’ a’ That

When I heard about the role of volunteer at the RBBM, it captured my attention as I thought it would be good fun  –  which it is!    The variety of the “job” is amazing, from taking part in events, helping with the admin side of the Pop-up Shop, assisting in the organisation of the volunteer/staff day trips, to trying to answer people’s questions about Burns (the most popular one is “what did he die of?”).  I have also taken part in special events, such as Alloween, playing the part of an old witch in the kitchen.   Some people may say that I was typecast !!

It is difficult to pinpoint a single memorable experience, as the customers are all different, and I have a lot of good memories from meeting “neighbours” of the Museum to those from the far corners of the globe, and other volunteers from other properties of the Trust.    I was also very lucky to be one of the few chosen to go on a trip to London to visit the British Museum (for afternoon tea, a private tour and then for a Museum awards ceremony that evening).  HRH Prince Charles donated tickets for a Highgrove Tour and I was fortunate to win a pair too !!

My one favourite thing about the RBBM …….. hmmmm, I would have to say Eric (my husband !).
Volunteerweekcomp

Leave a Reply

